Juried Show: Of Time and Place

© Jan Cordova | Granada Light

The annual spring juried call, “Of Time and Place,” is displayed in the Main and Step Up gallery spaces. The work of 99 photographers from five states—California, New York, New Jersey, Texas, and Washington—shows imaginative interpretations of the theme. Juror Gene Kennedy, a photo educator and nationally known photographer, selected the photographs from over 300 images entered.

Chosen interpretations of the theme range from momentary captures of weather events and a quiet slant of light in an archway to highly personal encounters in familiar and unfamiliar places. Moody landscapes, vibrant sunsets, street scenes, architecture and portraits are all part of the mix. Whether in color or black and white, the selections take the viewer on a pictorial global journey, including stops in Australia, Cambodia, China, Cuba, Estonia, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Myanmar, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, Spain, Sicily, Thailand, Tibet, Ukraine, Vietnam, Arizona, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Oregon, Utah, and our own ever photomagnetic California.

In recognition of 2024 Photography Month Sacramento, one Special Award for the Viewpoint workshop “A Sense of Place,” taught by photographer Farrell Scott, was chosen as the outstanding image in one of the four participating counties: Sacramento, Nevada, Placer, and Yolo. The 2024 winner is Steve Cozad of Fairfield, CA, for his image “Hallelujah Sunrise” overlooking fog-encased Donner Lake in Nevada County.

Showing Artists:

Calvin Abe
Mary Aiu
Les Allert
John Angell
Larry Angier
Laszlo Bencze
Brad Branan
Karisa Broadbent
Marijean Welage Brush
Shelley Carlisle
Nancy Chadwick
Cecilia Clark
Lawrence Coleman
Foster Connor
Garrett Cotham
Steve Cozad
Todd Damiano
Ray Dancer
Ken Davis
Katie DelaVaughn
Claude Duplat
Eric Engles
Garry Everett
Chanel Faaoso
Alan Fishleder
Dolores Frank
Laurie Gallant
Steve Goldstein
Kathleen Grady
William Graves
Dale Green
Rebecca Gregg
Aubrey Guthrie II

Peri Hoke
Lee Holmes
Mark Howell
Greg Hubbard
Therese Iknoian
Arthur Jankowski
Joey Johnson
Tom Johnson
David Kalb
Rick Kattelmann
Dale Kolke
George Lazar
Matthew Levesque
Roger Lieberman
Jan Lightfoot
Willy Lizarraga
Charles Lowe
Stephanie Luke
Ingrid Lundquist
Emmanuel Madrid
Jan Cordova Manzi
Carol Marshall
Eve Matteson
Linda McClendon
Marlo McClurg
Michele McCormick
Todd Merport
Clark Mishler
David Nasater
Steve Nieslony
Ed Nordstrom
Darrell O’Sullivan
Mircea Ouatu-Lascar

Henry Paine
Thomas Piette
Bridgette Pilling
Diana Proctor
Donna Rico
Mark Rideout
David Robertson
David Ruderman
Victoria Ruderman
Sharon Saltzman
Theresa Sarappo
Chris Schiller
Susan Scholey
Dennis Scott
Brian Seek
Kathleen Sewell
Mark Snaer
Jon Sousa
Mignon Stapleton
Daryl Stinchfield
James Swartzlander
Jason Tannen
Mark ‘Geo’ Thomas
Kathy Triolo
Gerrit van Ommering
Lucille van Ommering
Aaron Vizzini
James Wilson
Anthony Wong
David Wong
Sharon Wu
Judy Yemma
Sabina Zildzic